Past event: Mozart’s Piano: ‘Jeunehomme’

Schumann (arr. Debussy/Holloway) Six Canonic Studies [world premiere]
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 9 in E-flat Major, K271 (‘Jeunehomme’)
Beethoven Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 36

Imogen Cooper piano
Nicholas Collon conductor

Imogen Cooper makes her debut appearance with Aurora in a programme which also features the first-ever performance of Beethoven’s second symphony at Kings Place.

“Cooper remains one of the sovereign pianists: everything she touches exudes integrity, the highest understanding coupled with a melting beauty of sound.” (International Piano Magazine)

Aurora begins the second season of its five-year journey through Mozart’s piano concertos with what is widely considered to be the twenty-one-year-old composer’s first great masterpiece: the so-called ‘Jeunehomme’ concerto. Imogen Cooper appears as soloist for this watershed work, marking Mozart’s single greatest single leap forward on the path to full maturity.

“The qualities that make Cooper quite simply one of the finest pianists this country has produced make her perfect for Mozart duty.” (Gramophone)

Alongside Mozart’s joyful and exuberant music, the orchestra performs two works by composers who were also entering their prime, but for whom the creative process was marked by struggle. Beethoven’s second symphony was penned during the onset of deafness, amid the realisation that it would be incurable. The limpid beauty of Schumann’s Six Canonic Studies, meanwhile, belies a personal context of depression and obsession: originally written for organ and later adapted by Debussy for two pianos, these ravishing studies are heard here for the first time in a new arrangement for chamber orchestra by Robin Holloway.


Wednesday 15 March, 7.30pm – The Apex, Bury St Edmunds
Saturday 18 March, 7.30pm – Hall One, Kings Place

Kings Place concert is part of Mozart’s Piano and will be preceded by a free pre-concert talk, featuring Imogen Cooper in conversation with Alfred Brendel.

Mozart’s Piano is generously supported by:

The Parabola Foundation (principal supporter)
An Anonymous Donor
Nicholas Snowman & Wartski
Aurora Orchestra’s Concerto Patrons & Friends

Generous support for these performances has been received from Nicholas Snowman & Wartski (for Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 9) and the RVW Trust (for Robin Holloway’s Six Canonic Studies).

Aurora gratefully acknowledges the additional support of Bärenreiter and Green & Fortune for the Mozart’s Piano series.

Related events