Past event: Max Richter

Max Richter Vivaldi Recomposed
Max Richter On the Nature of Daylight
Max Richter Three Worlds: Music from Woolf Works (world premiere)

Ray Chen violin/director
Max Richter electronics/piano

Aurora joins Max Richter in an open-air concert celebrating the music of this genre-defying composer, producer, and musician, whose works resonate through modern culture today, from film to television to dance to theatre. The orchestra gives the world premiere of Richter’s evocative chamber piece Three Worlds: Music from Woolf Works, drawn from his ballet music for Wayne McGregor’s dance narrative Woolf Works. Three Worlds brings to life Virginia Woolf’s poetic voice and life through breathtaking soundscapes and electronic touches, revolving around her three influential novels: Mrs. Dalloway, Orlando, and The Waves.

Magnetic violinist Ray Chen also joins the orchestra in Richter’s Vivaldi Recomposed, an elegant reworking of Vivaldi’s masterpiece The Four Seasons, and On the Nature of Daylight, a moving pulsating piece featured in the highly-acclaimed sci-fi film Arrival.

Part of Nocturne Live at Blenheim Palace, a series of summer concerts.