Past event: The Four Quarters

Maurice Ravel Introduction and Allegro
Thomas Adès The Four Quarters
W.A. Mozart Serenade No. 10 in B-flat for Winds (‘Gran Partita’)

Principal Players of Aurora Orchestra

Thomas Adès’ bold and mysterious The Four Quarters for string quartet charts the dart and flow of time across its four movements: from the chattering dusk of ‘Nightfall’ to the tick-tock droplets of ‘Morning Dew’, the steady pulse of ‘Days’, and ‘The Twenty-Fifth Hour’ where time at last seeps beyond the measure of the clock face. A concert of depth and sparkle, the programme also includes Ravel’s glittering miniature concerto for harp and the sumptuous Gran Partita in B-flat, Mozart’s Serenade No. 10 for 13 wind instruments.


10th May: Stamford Arts Centre
14th May: Newbury Festival