Past events

The Lock-In: Songsmith

Sat 18 March 2017

10.15pm, Hall Two, Kings Place

A versatile singer, pianist, songwriter and arranger, Sam Swallow has been a favourite Aurora collaborator since a barnstorming first appearance with the orchestra in 2011.

Mozart’s Piano: ‘Jeunehomme’

18 March 2017 – 15 March 2017

  • Wed 15 March 2017, 7.30PM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Sat 18 March 2017, 7.30PM – {Venue, Name of City}

The Apex, Bury St Edmunds; Kings Place

Imogen Cooper makes her debut appearance with Aurora in a programme which also features Beethoven's second symphony.

In Conversation: Brendel & Cooper

Sat 18 March 2017

6.15pm, St Pancras Room, Kings Place

Join us for a free pre-concert talk with Alfred Brendel and Imogen Cooper.

Musika-Música

5 March 2017 – 4 March 2017

  • Sat 4 March 2017, 6.30PM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Sun 5 March 2017, 1.30PM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Sun 5 March 2017, 8.30PM – {Venue, Name of City}

A1 Hall, Musika-Música Festival

Aurora returns to Bilbao to make a debut performance at the Musika-Música Festival with a mini-residency of three concerts over two days.

Debussy & the Snow Elephant

19 February 2017 – 10 February 2017

  • Sat 11 February 2017, 10.30AM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Fri 10 February 2017, 12.30PM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Sun 12 February 2017, 10.30AM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Tue 14 February 2017, 10.30AM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Thu 16 February 2017, 10.30AM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Sat 18 February 2017, 10.30AM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Sun 19 February 2017, 10.00AM – {Venue, Name of City}

Kings Place & Southbank Centre

Aurora Orchestra’s much-loved family concerts continue with a magical journey through a wintery world in the company of Jimbo, the shy snow elephant.

The Gruffalo/Room on the Broom

Mon 13 February 2017

1.30pm, Royal Festival Hall

Escape into much-loved children’s classics, with added whimsical orchestral music.

Metamorphosen

Sat 4 February 2017

4.00pm, Royal Festival Hall

Aurora teams up again with the acclaimed artist and bestselling author Edmund de Waal for an event exploring Strauss’ Metamorphosen.

Late–Night: Alban Gerhardt

Sat 7 January 2017

9.45pm, Hall One, Kings Place

Join Alban Gerhardt for a late-night ascent of the 'Everest' of the cello repertoire: Kodály's monumental Sonata in B minor for solo cello.

Reflections

Sat 7 January 2017

7.30pm, Hall One, Kings Place

Alban Gerhardt joins us to open the year-long Cello Unwrapped series at Kings Place, with music by Vivaldi, Ravel, Tchaikovsky, Stravinsky and Britten.

The Lock-In: The Willow Baby

Fri 16 December 2016

9.45pm, Hall Two, Kings Place

Enter a magical-realist world of folk tales, music and visuals in a late-night event devised by Aurora's Principal Viola, Max Baillie.