See our full site

Aurora with Jan Lisiecki

Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major
Héloïse Werner New work (world premiere)*
Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 5 in C minor (from memory)

Jan Lisiecki piano
Nicholas Collon conductor
Aurora Orchestra 

Sat 25 March 2023, 4pm
Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank Centre
£15-£65 (plus booking fee)

Aurora pairs iconic works by Beethoven with a new piece from one of the most exciting voices in 21st-century music, Héloïse Werner.

French-born composer Héloïse Werner is rapidly establishing herself amongst the most imaginative and engaging composers of her generation. Her new work for Aurora, given its world premiere in this performance, harnesses the potential of an orchestra performing from memory to use instrumentalists in unexpected ways. Werner writes of her new piece: “I am so excited to be writing a new work for Aurora – I’ve always been inspired by their thrilling approach to music making, including innovative theatricality and performance from memory.”

Werner’s new work introduces Beethoven’s mighty Fifth Symphony, performed here by Aurora in signature memorised fashion. Stellar young Polish-Canadian pianist Jan Lisiecki appears as soloist for Beethoven’s fourth piano concerto.

‘Héloïse Werner should be a name on the lips of any musical adventure.’ The Observer

‘[Lisiecki is] Perhaps the most complete pianist of his age.’ BBC Music Magazine

‘Playing from memory Aurora created an organic sense of community, dynamism and inspiration.” The New York Times

* Héloïse Werner’s new commission is kindly supported by PRS Foundation’s The Open Fund for Organisations.

PRS Foundation logo