Read our Covid-19 statement

See our full site

Brahms Re-Imagined

Brahms Re-Imagined

Brahms Clarinet Trio in A Minor (trans. for viola by Maxim Rysanov)
Brahms Scherzo from the ‘FAE’ Sonata (performed with viola and piano)
Brahms Serenade No. 1 in D (chamber version)

Maxim Rysanov viola
Oliver Coates cello
John Reid piano
Principal Players of Aurora Orchestra
Nicholas Collon conductor

Brahms: unwrapped; re-conceived; distilled.

Firmly established as one of the world’s leading viola players, Maxim Rysanov performs his own transcriptions of two of Brahms’ best-loved chamber works alongside Aurora principals. These gems set the stage for the first Serenade: a masterpiece of boundless invention and rich colour heard here in the chamber orchestration for which it was originally conceived.


Part of Brahms Unwrapped