See our full site

Mozart’s Piano: Echoes of Mozart

Mozart’s Piano: Echoes of Mozart

Ravel Mother Goose Suite (original version for piano four-hands)
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 10 in E-flat major for two pianos, K365
Stravinsky Concerto in D for strings
Schubert Symphony No. 5 in B-flat major, D485

Katia and Marielle Labèque piano
Nicholas Collon conductor

The incomparable Labèque sisters return to Kings Place for Mozart’s double piano concerto, as part of a programme also featuring Schubert’s best-loved symphony.

Following sell-out appearances in 2011 and 2015, Katia and Marielle Labèque return to Kings Place as part of Aurora Orchestra’s Mozart’s Piano series. Nicholas Collon conducts a programme which traces Mozart’s musical legacy through later composers, most obviously in the heavily Mozartian inflections of Schubert’s Symphony No. 5. Stravinsky also harks back to the classical in his fiery Concerto for strings, whilst for Ravel – whose Mother Goose Suite is heard here in its original version for piano four-hands – Mozart was nothing less than “the musician par excellence, our god!”

This concert is part of Mozart’s Piano, and will be preceded by a free pre-concert talk featuring the Labèque sisters in conversation with Igor Toronyi-Lalic.

Mozart’s Piano is generously supported by:

The Parabola Foundation (principal supporter)
An Anonymous Donor
Nicholas Snowman & Wartski
Aurora Orchestra’s Concerto Patrons & Friends