See our full site

Kopatchinskaja Plays Tchaikovsky

Fri 24 Jun 2022, 7.30pm
Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall
£10-£50 (plus booking fee)

Introduction to Shostakovich 9 by Nicholas Collon and Tom Service
Shostakovich Symphony No.9 in E flat (performed from memory)
Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto

Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin
Tom Service presenter
Nicholas Collon conductor/presenter

We bring our thrilling memorised approach to Shostakovich’s Ninth Symphony, harnessing the power of an orchestra playing from memory to explore a 20th-century masterpiece from the inside out. Principal Conductor Nicholas Collon teams up with BBC Radio 3’s Tom Service to offer audiences a uniquely vivid musical introduction with live excerpts. They unpack the musical architecture of the symphony’s fleet-footed melodies and dance-filled rhythms, before Aurora’s musicians put it back together with a complete performance of the work by heart.

In the second half, we’re joined by Southbank Centre Associate Artist Patricia Kopatchinskaja for her electrifying interpretation of Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto in D major.

‘Marvellous… Playing from memory, Aurora created an organic sense of community, dynamism and inspiration.’ New York Times

‘A phenomenal virtuoso with the necessary technique to burn and the bravery to then burn it.’ LA Times on Patricia Kopatchinskaja

Southbank Centre Members’ pre-sale opens 10am Tuesday 9 November
General sale opens 10am Thursday 11 November