See our full site

Live at Kings Place: Steven Osborne

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 23 in A, K488 (arranged for chamber ensemble)
Sylvia Lim New work
Shostakovich Piano Quintet in G minor

Steven Osborne Piano

Live at Kings Place: Steven Osborne

Sat 12 December, 7.00pm
Hall One, Kings Place

We continue our special series of live chamber performances at Kings Place, performed to a socially-distanced audience in Hall One and broadcast live online via KPlayer.

Five years ago, Aurora embarked on Mozart’s Piano, the first complete performance cycle of Mozart’s piano concertos ever staged in the UK. This monumental cycle was set to culminate in 2020, with performances of Mozart’s final concertos at Kings Place throughout the year. Circumstances have changed, but our Mozart’s Piano journey continues in this special chamber series, with three concerts featuring the concertos in reduced versions, alongside major chamber works and a series of new commissions.

In this concert, Steven Osborne joins Principal Players of Aurora for an exuberant programme of chamber music featuring Shostakovich’s Piano Quintet and a chamber arrangement of Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 23. Also featured is a new commission from Sylvia Lim.

Tickets to watch the concert in the Hall have now sold out, but you can still join us online. Live streaming tickets are available to purchase here and will be available until seven days after the concert has taken place.

Last year marked the 10-year anniversary of Aurora’s relationship with the BBC Young Composer Competition: over the previous decade, Aurora performed well over a hundred new works by the talented young composers selected as competition winners and runners-up. To celebrate this collaboration, and to enrich our newly-unveiled autumn season with the music of some of the UK’s outstanding new musical voices, each of Aurora’s three concerts at Kings Place this autumn will feature a new commission for a former BBC Young Composer. Further details about the commissions will be announced soon.

Change of soloist

This concert originally announced Javier Perianes as the piano soloist for Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.23 and Schumann’s Piano Quintet. Unfortunately Javier is no longer able to join us due to travel restrictions caused by Covid-19. We are thrilled that Steven Osborne is able to perform the Mozart Piano Concerto and Shostakovich’s Piano Quintet in this concert.

Mozart’s Piano is generously supported by:

The Parabola Foundation (principal supporter)
An Anonymous Donor
Nicholas & Margo Snowman
Aurora Orchestra’s Concerto Patrons & Friends

Aurora gratefully acknowledges the additional support of Bärenreiter and Green & Fortune for the Mozart’s Piano series.

Sylvia Lim’s new commission is generously supported by the RVW Trust.




Steven Osborne photo © Benjamin Ealovega