See our full site

Live from Kings Place: Louis Schwizgebel

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 26 in D, K537, ‘Coronation’ (arranged for chamber ensemble)
Sasha Scott Lucid (world premiere)
Ravel Piano Trio in A minor

Louis Schwizgebel Piano
Introduction by Tom Service

Live from Kings Place: Louis Schwizgebel

Available to watch on KPlayer until 15 November

Sat 7 November, 7.00pm
Hall One, Kings Place
Watch live online via KPlayer

New government guidance means that sadly we can’t welcome an audience to Kings Place in person this Saturday. The good news is that we are able to go ahead with our concert behind closed doors as an online performance. In partnership with Kings Place, the concert will be broadcast live from Hall One at 7pm.

Five years ago, Aurora embarked on Mozart’s Piano, the first complete performance cycle of Mozart’s piano concertos ever staged in the UK. This monumental cycle was set to culminate in 2020, with performances of Mozart’s final concertos at Kings Place throughout the year. Circumstances have changed, but our Mozart’s Piano journey continues in this special chamber series, with three concerts featuring the concertos in reduced versions, alongside major chamber works and a series of new commissions.

In this concert, former BBC New Generation Artist Louis Schwizgebel makes his Kings Place debut with an arrangement of Mozart’s glorious ‘Coronation’ concerto, paired with Ravel’s Piano Trio. Also featured is a new work by Sasha Scott, winner of the 2019 BBC Proms Young Composer Competition.

Last year marked the 10-year anniversary of Aurora’s relationship with the BBC Young Composer Competition: over the previous decade, Aurora performed well over a hundred new works by the talented young composers selected as competition winners and runners-up. To celebrate this collaboration, and to enrich our newly-unveiled autumn season with the music of some of the UK’s outstanding new musical voices, each of Aurora’s three concerts at Kings Place this autumn will feature a new commission for a former BBC Young Composer. Further details about the commissions will be announced soon.

Mozart’s Piano is generously supported by:

The Parabola Foundation (principal supporter)
An Anonymous Donor
Nicholas & Margo Snowman
Aurora Orchestra’s Concerto Patrons & Friends

Aurora gratefully acknowledges the additional support of Bärenreiter and Green & Fortune for the Mozart’s Piano series.

Sasha Scott’s new commission is generously supported by the RVW Trust.