Back to live events

Live at Kings Place: Imogen Cooper

Sat 17 October 2020
Kings Place, Hall One

We return to live performance at Kings Place with a special series of intimate chamber concerts. Join us in Hall One or watch the performance live online, and celebrate Aurora’s long-awaited return to live music.

Five years ago, Aurora embarked on Mozart’s Piano, the first complete performance cycle of Mozart’s piano concertos ever staged in the UK. This monumental cycle was set to culminate in 2020, with performances of Mozart’s final concertos at Kings Place throughout the year. Circumstances have changed, but our Mozart’s Piano journey continues in this special chamber series, with three concerts featuring the concertos in reduced versions, alongside major chamber works and a series of new commissions.

In this concert, internationally-renowned pianist Imogen Cooper joins Principal Players of Aurora for an arrangement of Mozart’s radiant Piano Concerto No. 25, paired with Schubert’s much-loved ‘Trout’ Quintet. Completing the programme is a new commission from Electra Perivolaris, hailed by James Macmillan as “one of the most exciting young composers emerging in Scotland today”.

For the first time, bookers for this Aurora concert have the option to purchase tickets to attend in person, or to watch the live stream online. Booking opens at 11am on Tuesday 25 August.

Last year marked the 10-year anniversary of Aurora’s relationship with the BBC Young Composer Competition: over the previous decade, Aurora performed well over a hundred new works by the talented young composers selected as competition winners and runners-up. To celebrate this collaboration, and to enrich our newly-unveiled autumn season with the music of some of the UK’s outstanding new musical voices, each of Aurora’s three concerts at Kings Place this autumn will feature a new commission for a former BBC Young Composer. Further details about the commissions will be announced soon.

Mozart’s Piano is generously supported by:

The Parabola Foundation (principal supporter)
An Anonymous Donor
Nicholas & Margo Snowman
Aurora Orchestra’s Concerto Patrons & Friends

Aurora gratefully acknowledges the additional support of Bärenreiter and Green & Fortune for the Mozart’s Piano series.

Electra Perivolaris’s new commission is generously supported by the RVW Trust.