Read our Covid-19 statement

See our full site

Mozart’s Piano: Mad Rush

Mozart’s Piano: Mad Rush

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 12 in A major, K414 (version for piano and string quartet)
Ligeti Piano Concerto
Chopin Mazurka in A minor, Op. 17 No. 4
Philip Glass Mad Rush
Conlon Nancarrow (arr. Yvar Mikhashoff) Study No. 7 for Player Piano
Hindemith Kammermusik No. 1

Shai Wosner piano
Nicholas Collon conductor

Shai Wosner makes his Kings Place debut in a programme of breathtaking virtuosity including Ligeti’s Piano Concerto.

The pianist comes in many guises: the flamboyant solo virtuoso, the chamber musician, the concerto soloist. This dazzling programme explores each of these varied facets and more in the company of the supremely versatile Shai Wosner.

“Wosner’s performance of Ligeti’s piano concerto is a wowser. You ideally need two brains and three hands to play this piece well.  Wosner makes it sound easy, the rattling cross rhythms effortless, the sheer musicality drawing you in.” (The Arts Desk)

At the heart of the programme is a work never previously performed at Kings Place – Ligeti’s Piano Concerto, a musical roller coaster of stunning intricacy described by the composer as his most technically demanding and complex score. Wosner also performs Philip Glass’ minimalist landmark Mad Rush – a work of indeterminate length originally created to mark the Dalai Lama’s first visit to North America – and appears as soloist for Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 12, heard here in the composer’s own arrangement for piano and string quartet. Also featured is Hindemith’s cartoon-like Kammermusik No. 1, and an arrangement for ensemble of one of the Conlon Nancarrow’s impossibly fiendish studies for player piano.

This concert is part of Mozart’s Piano and will be preceded by a free pre-concert talk, featuring Nicholas Collon in conversation with Aurora’s Chief Executive John Harte.

Mozart’s Piano is generously supported by:

The Parabola Foundation (principal supporter)
An Anonymous Donor
Nicholas Snowman & Wartski
Aurora Orchestra’s Concerto Patrons & Friends