Back to live events

New Dawns

Sat 8 February 2020
Kings Place

The American pianist Nicholas Angelich makes his Aurora debut as soloist for Mozart’s C-minor Piano Concerto, widely considered one of the composer’s greatest works and described by Brahms as ‘a masterpiece of art… full of inspired ideas’.

Another admirer of the concerto was the young Beethoven, who on hearing the work in rehearsal in 1799 reportedly exclaimed, ‘We shall never be able to do anything like that!’ Just a year later, Beethoven premiered the first of his symphonies, consolidating his reputation as the musical heir to Mozart and Haydn with a work that honoured their musical tradition while offering glimpses of his more radical mature voice.

The programme opens with Dobrinka Tabakova’s Dawn – a glimmering sunrise for strings with violin and cello soloists.

Insights into Beethoven’s First Symphony
Q&A with Jamie Campbell, Principal Second Violin: He shares his thoughts about Beethoven’s daring First Symphony.

Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.24 is generously supported by Aurora Orchestra Concerto Patrons who wish to remain anonymous.

Mozart’s Piano is generously supported by:

The Parabola Foundation (principal supporter)
An Anonymous Donor
Nicholas & Margo Snowman
Aurora Orchestra’s Concerto Patrons & Friends

Aurora gratefully acknowledges the additional support of Bärenreiter and Green & Fortune for the Mozart’s Piano series.