Dobrinka Tabakova Dawn (London premiere)
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor, K491
Beethoven Symphony No. 1 in C major

Nicholas Angelich piano
Nicholas Collon conductor


The American pianist Nicholas Angelich makes his Aurora debut as soloist for Mozart’s C-minor Piano Concerto, widely considered one of the composer’s greatest works and described by Brahms as ‘a masterpiece of art… full of inspired ideas’.

Another admirer of the concerto was the young Beethoven, who on hearing the work in rehearsal in 1799 reportedly exclaimed, ‘We shall never be able to do anything like that!’ Just a year later, Beethoven premiered the first of his symphonies, consolidating his reputation as the musical heir to Mozart and Haydn with a work that honoured their musical tradition while offering glimpses of his more radical mature voice.

Connecting Mozart’s Piano with the year-long Kings Place Nature Unwrapped series, the programme opens with Dobrinka Tabakova’s Dawn – a glimmering sunrise for strings with violin and cello soloists.


Mozart’s Piano is generously supported by:

The Parabola Foundation (principal supporter)
An Anonymous Donor
Nicholas & Margo Snowman
Aurora Orchestra’s Concerto Patrons & Friends

Aurora gratefully acknowledges the additional support of Bärenreiter and Green & Fortune for the Mozart’s Piano series.

Related events