Copland Appalachian Spring
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 25 in C major, K503
Mozart Symphony No. 38 in D major, K504, ‘Prague’

Imogen Cooper piano
Nicholas Collon conductor


Celebrate this year’s summer solstice with a riot of musical colour in this lively Mozart’s Piano programme with pianist Imogen Cooper.

Aurora plunges into the vast American heartland in Copland’s Appalachian Spring, a work sprinkled with infectious rhythms, light-footed melodies and an enduring, life-affirming spirit. This 20th-century classic is paired with two equally radiant pieces by Mozart, both composed in the same prolific year of 1786, in which the composer also penned his much-loved The Marriage of Figaro. Pianist Imogen Cooper performs Mozart’s majestic Piano Concerto No. 25 in C major – a piece seen by some as the most ambitious and symphonic of all his piano concertos. Concluding the programme, the grand Prague Symphony finds Mozart at his most inventive, taking the symphonic form to new heights with the richness of his contrapuntal scoring and harmonic exploration.


Mozart’s Piano is generously supported by:

The Parabola Foundation (principal supporter)
An Anonymous Donor
Nicholas & Margo Snowman
Aurora Orchestra’s Concerto Patrons & Friends

Aurora gratefully acknowledges the additional support of Bärenreiter and Green & Fortune for the Mozart’s Piano series.

Find out more about supporting the final year of Mozart’s Piano here.

Related events