What’s on

Fauré & Mozart

Thu 31 January 2019

8.00pm, Cooper Hall, Frome

A chamber music programme rich in colour and form with our Principal Players at Cooper Hall.

Life Cycle

Sat 2 February 2019

7.00pm, Hall One, Kings Place

This programme explores the different guises of transformation in the music of Anna Meredith, Emily Hall, and Mozart.

The Lock-In: Surround

Sat 2 February 2019

9.15pm, Hall Two, Kings Place

In this late-night Lock-In, Aurora shines the spotlight on the vibrant, bold, and original music of Anna Meredith.

Pepper the Monkey

Sun 10 February 2019 – Sun 24 February 2019

  • Sun 10 February 2019, 10.30AM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Sat 16 February 2019, 10.00AM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Sun 17 February 2019, 10.00AM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Sun 24 February 2019, 10.00AM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Mon 18 February 2019, 10.00AM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Tue 19 February 2019, 10.00AM – {Venue, Name of City}

Kings Place & Southbank Centre

Step inside the Green Leaf Forest to tightrope walk across a dancing river, tame a furry lion cub and make music with some very rascally frogs.

The Monstrous Child

Thu 21 February 2019 – Sun 3 March 2019

  • Sun 24 February 2019, 2.00PM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Thu 21 February 2019, 7.30PM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Fri 22 February 2019, 7.30PM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Wed 27 February 2019, 7.30PM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Thu 28 February 2019, 7.30PM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Sat 2 March 2019, 7.30PM – {Venue, Name of City}
  • Sun 3 March 2019, 2.00PM – {Venue, Name of City}

Linbury Theatre

A Royal Opera House collaboration of the new opera, The Monstrous Child, by young British composer Gavin Higgins.

Dark with Excessive Bright

Fri 5 April 2019

7.00pm, Hall One, Kings Place

One of the most distinctive and exciting voices of new music today, the concert features the music of composer Missy Mazzoli with her Double Bass concerto.

The Lock-In: Sticks and Keys

Fri 5 April 2019

9.15pm, Hall Two, Kings Place

Experience the bold colours and rhythmic intensity of Bartók’s Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion in a unique immersive performance.

Music of the Spheres

Wed 5 June 2019

7.30pm, Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank Centre

We explore celestial sounds and the cosmic order in an eclectic programme enriched by choreography and illustration.

Mozart in the Garden

Sat 29 June 2019

10.00am, Hall Two, Kings Place

Wander among the lavender, wiggle with worms and snooze to the music of a twinkling firefly.

In conversation: Ronald Brautigam and Amy Dickson

Sat 28 September 2019

6.00pm, St Pancras Room

Legendary pianist Ronald Brautigam and award-winning saxophonist Amy Dickson in conversation with Nicholas Collon, Principal Conductor.

Reels and Dances

Sat 28 September 2019

7.00pm, Hall One, Kings Place

We travel to a land of soaring mountains and haunting myths, conjuring up the evocative drama of Scotland with pianist Ronald Brautigam and saxophonist Amy Dickson.

The Lock-In: Mozart in the Garden

Sat 28 September 2019

9.15pm, Hall Two, Kings Place

A reimagining of our interactive children’s concert for grown-ups, where you’ll get to wander among the lavender, wiggle with worms and discover your inner child.

Our Principal Players in conversation reflecting on 15 years of the orchestra.

New Rhapsodies

Sat 2 November 2019

7.00pm, Hall Two, Kings Place

An exploration of early 20th-century expressions of modernity with pianist Tom Poster, pairing iconic works by Gershwin, Bartók and Prokofiev with Mozart.

The Lock-In: Slåttespel

Sat 2 November 2019

9.15pm, Hall Two, Kings Place

An ethereal night of Nordic folk tunes and folklore with our Norwegian Principal Cellist Torun Sæter Stavseng.

Pioneers

Sat 14 December 2019

7.00pm, Hall One, Kings Place

Celebrating women pioneers past and present with works by Louise Farrenc and Charlotte Bray in the company of pianist Angela Hewitt and cellist Natalie Clein.